The Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology’s funded chairs provide a unique opportunity to recognise and support talented academics and researchers.

Our chairs are leaders in their respective fields and are dedicated to creating a world-class teaching and learning experience. These expert chairs also play an important role in attracting talented, high-achieving undergraduate and postgraduate students to contribute to the Faculty’s continued academic and research excellence.

A funded chair can be created with a philanthropic endowment, bequest, major gift or through support and partnership with a leading industry.

For more information please contact Weston Bruner, Director of Advancement:
Phone: +61 7 3346 1640

Current Chairs

Professor Xiwang Zhang
DOW Chair in Sustainable Engineering
School of Chemical Engineering

Professor Mark Hickman
Transport Academic Partnership Chair
School of Civil Engineering

Professor Rebecca Gravina
Transport and Main Roads
Chair in Structural Engineering 
School of Civil Engineering

Professor Geoff Wang
Baosteel-Australia Chair
School of Chemical Engineering

Professor Lianzhou Wang (Non-funded)
Director of the HBIS-UQ Innovation Centre for Sustainable Steel (ICSS)
School of Chemical Engineering

Chair, Sustainable Energy Futures
School of Chemical Engineering

Professor Christophe Fumeaux
EOS Chair in Optical and Microwave Engineering
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science