UQ celebrates teaching excellence

8 Nov 2017

The cream of The University of Queensland’s teaching crop has been fêted at the annual UQ Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

Staff and guests gathered at Customs House to honour inspirational teachers who have helped cement The University of Queensland’s ranking in the world’s top 50 universities.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Joanne Wright said the event, which marks the start of Teaching and Learning Week, was an important recognition of the dedication of teachers and their extraordinary capacity to stimulate learning and provide direction to their students.

“Providing our students with the knowledge and skills to be enterprising graduates capable of building meaningful, agile careers is at the heart of UQ’s vision of knowledge leadership for a better world,” Professor Wright said.

“Producing exceptional graduates requires exceptional teachers who can deliver the deep learning needed to navigate a rapidly changing world."

The Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology would like to congratulate Dr Chris Landorf from the School of Architecture who was awarded a UQ Teaching Excellence Award, as well as to EAIT’s Teaching and Learning Development Program (TLDP) led by Associate Professor Lydia Kavanagh and Dr Liza O’Moore. The TLDP received a commendation for Programs that Enhance Learning.

Winners of the 2017 UQ Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Learning:

Awards for Teaching Excellence

  • Dr Chris Landorf
  • Dr Barbara Maenhaut
  • Dr Timothy McIntyre

Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning

  • Business, Economics and Law Student Employability Team: Ms Rhea Jain, Mr Ken Lai, Ms Jacqueline Niblett, Mr Ryan Webb, Ms Joanne Buchan, Ms Catherine Lam, Ms Cate Clifford, Ms Debbie Hathaway, Ms Carlene Kirvan
  • Knowledge-Making in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences: Ms Inge Matt, Professor Julie Duck, Professor Fred D’Agostino, Associate Professor Deborah Brown, Ms Shirley Moran, Mr Chris Frost, Ms Noela Yates, Dr David Rowland, Mr Farshad Seifouri, Mr Ben Graham

Commendations for Programs that Enhance Learning

  • Postgraduate Clinical Pharmacy Programs – Ms Judith Burrows, Dr Treasure McGuire, Dr Karen Luetsch, Associate Professor Alexandra Clavarino, Ms Carla Scuderi, Dr Adam La Caze, Ms Vanessa King
  • Teaching and Learning Development Program – Associate Professor Lydia Kavanagh, Dr Liza O’Moore, Professor Caroline Crosthwaite, Associate Professor Carl Reidsema, Associate Professor Peter Sutton, Dr Tracey Papinczak, Mr Mark Reedman.
  • UQ Employability Framework – Dr Dino Willox, Ms Andrea Reid, Ms Anna Richards

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Associate Professor Marta Indulska from the School of Business
  • Dr Anna Rumbach from the School of Health and Rehabilitation Science
  • Dr Tammy Smith from the Office of Medical Education
  • Dr Kim Wilkins from the School of Communication and Arts

Commendations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Dr Emma Beckman from the School of Human Movement and Nutrition Science
  • Dr Deborah Lynch from the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work
  • Immersive visualisations – Dr Kevin Welsh, Dr Gilbert Price, Dr Charles Verdel, Dr Vera Weisbecker from the School of Earth and Environmental Science

UQ teachers were recently recognised in the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

View the original article on UQ News